Happy 100th, New Mexico!

Today, New Mexicans celebrate 100 years of statehood–Jan. 6, 1912-Jan. 6, 2012.

If you’re in New Mexico today, check out the Centennial webpage for the schedule of events all around the state.  At 11:30 this morning, honk your horn wherever you are in New Mexico to signify New Mexico’s birthday!

All week, I have shared stories that make Northeast New Mexico unique. Here’s one more from the Morrow family archives.

John F. Morrow, referred to as Papa Morrow in the family, arrived in Folsom, New Mexico by train in 1888 as a school teacher.   He taught many children including the Dale children.

During the long, harsh winters, the Dale Family would move down to Folsom from Johnson Mesa so their daughters could attend school under John F. Morrow’s direction.

This is where the story gets good!   He would eventually marry Virginia Dale, who was actually one of his students.  Not quite so scandalous in those days, I guess!  They were married in the Dale’s home  on November 30, 1891.

John F. and Virginia Dale Morrow

John F. Morrow went on to become Raton’s Superintendent of Schools, a lawyer, a New Mexico Territorial Representative and a U.S. Congressman.

68th U.s. Congress Freshman Class, 1923. John F. Morrow is the first person in the second row from the left.

Since then, many Morrows have served the state as teachers, politicians, business owners and stewards of the Land of Enchantment.

Here’s to the next 100 years of statehood!

*The photo and story of John F. and Virginia Dale Morrow come from the American Journal biosketch blog by Jim Morrow, thanks Jim!

13 thoughts on “Happy 100th, New Mexico!

  1. I’ve been gone for a bit and looks like I’ve got some serious catching up to do but I wanted to pop in and say two things:
    1). Happy Birthday to your state!
    2). There’s an uncanny resemblance between you and Virginia Dale!
    Have a great weekend!
    ~d.

  2. I found this piece of history very fascinating and I was pleased to read about the early history of New Mexico. I guess I should not complain when by daughter says she wants to be a teacher and then an administrator.

  3. Two thumbs up on your history lessons Ma’am 🙂 On my trip through NM into AZ last week I was wondering if I should head a bit east into the state. I didn’t but now wish I had. Keep up the blog my friend, I love the “stories from home” atmosphere it gives.

Leave a Reply

